Changing Curriculum… A good idea?

My son is struggling with some of the curriculum we are using and falling behind in a few classes. This is the 3rd curriculum we have tried. I am asking myself the question, “Is it a good idea to switch curriculum again this school year?” My answer: “If we continue with the curriculum we are on, he will not make it through the sixth grade. So, even though it will be a big transition again, I think that it will be better in the long run.” I know that switching curriculums may upset the current school year, but I believe in the theory that if something is not working, then stop what you are doing and try something else. That is what is great about homeschooling. There are endless possibilities to the kind of curriculum and methods you can use to teach your children. Every child learns differently and not every method or curriculum is suitable for every child.

So, with that being said, here we go on yet another adventure of curriculum changes. I think it will be great once we get transitioned, and we are going to be using a lot of the Easy Peasy All-in-one-Homeschool (allinonehomeschool.wordpress.com) so we will not be going out to buy expensive books or anything. I believe it will be a great transition for our son, because right now, he has the “I don’t care” attitude about school and we need to shake it up so we can get that attitude to go away. Please pray for us as we make this transition.

 

Leave a Reply

