Thoughts on Online Public School

We decided to switch from homeschooling to online public school to see if it was a better fit for our family. Here is what I have found:

  1.  You do not get the resources needed in order to complete and help your child with all assignments
  2. You do not get to personalize your child’s learning plan like they all say that you can
  3. The kids can definitely not learn at their own pace.

We have 2 children on 2 different ends of the learning spectrum. Our oldest struggles a lot with school, and our youngest is breezing right through school. Our youngest was being hindered by going to online public school. She was very bored with her schoolwork and was not able to move ahead at her own pace. She got her first semester of school work done very early and instead of letting her move on, she just didn’t have class.

Our oldest struggled through every class. He had a hard time keeping up and our school days took 8 hours or more. We had to get all of the work done that was assigned each day or he would fall behind. That is not children learning at their own pace. It is forcing them to spend hours doing schoolwork that frustrates them.

Needless to say, we will be starting the 2nd semester of school in our homeschool environment. We are saying goodbye to online public school for good. I know my children better than a teacher that has never even seen them. I know their learning styles and I know their strengths and weaknesses. I feel like I will be better able to keep them interested in school than any public school can.

 

5 thoughts on “Thoughts on Online Public School

  1. I think that when it comes to home schooling it is very important to know each child’s learning ability. My daughter went through Connections Academy and then a K12 in order to graduate, which she chose. She excelled this way and it took away all the in-school drama. On the other hand, my son did not do well with Connections due to the fact that he really needed the structure that public school provides and the separation of parents and teachers. I found Connections Academy to be great as far as online schools go as we had great communication with the instructors on a regular basis and my daughter was able to call and ask questions and have personal help.
    Online school is not for everyone and neither is home school or even public school.
    Know your children, know their needs and do your research, which should include actually talking with people who have gone through the experience, before making a decision to change. I found that by changing my son to online school really took a lot away from him and getting him back on track when he went back to public school was very rough for him.
    There is no wrong choice, unless it is not good for your child, and there is nothing wrong with giving it a try and discovering that it doesn’t work.

  2. I totally understand your frustration with the public school system. It is not geared to individual learning at all. I really admire you for taking on the challenge of home schooling. Good for you! It’s not an easier route, for sure, but your family will probably be better for it.
    Love your blog theme, by the way. I almost chose this one for my blog because it’s so cute and animation is fun!

  3. I have never considered online public school. One thing about homeschooling that I love is feeling connected to my children. As i understand it, online school is being taught by teachers online. It seems so – it wouldn’t work for our family. I really enjoy interacting with ad helping the children to learn and to grow. Plus, a strict schedule – seems not what homeschooling is all about. I just don’t really see the point to it. I’m not much of a craft person, but I really do try. I also like that our curriculum is based in art and music – which isn’t seen as a priority in public schools.

    I don’t know. It just wouldn’t work.

    But thanks so much for the education and for linking up the post to the homeschoollinkup. I think this type of post is perfect for the linkup because it gives people options. Options and thinking about things in new ways is what homeschooling is about. So glad you linked up with us!

Leave a Reply

